Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Just some ruling question here

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
BlackAce-
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 772
Age : 19
Location : jurong
Registration date : 2010-12-24

PostSubject: Just some ruling question here    Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:07 pm

I summon earth opponent chain book of moon:does earth effect still activates?

Opponent summon trishula i chain bottomless trap hole does trishula effect still activates?

thanks alot
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:15 pm

For your two scenarios,

1)
Chain 1 - Earth
Chain 2 - Book of Moon

2)
Chain 1 - Bottomless Trap Hole
Chain 2 - Trishula

Resolve both backwards.
Back to top Go down
BlackAce-
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 772
Age : 19
Location : jurong
Registration date : 2010-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:27 pm

what do you mean by resolve both backwards?
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:41 pm

Chain 2 then Chain 1.
Back to top Go down
jusjustjustin
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 811
Age : 22
Location : payalebar
Registration date : 2010-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:52 pm

As long as a monster with an effect which starts with "when summoned.." is properly summoned and its effect is not negated, its effect will activate. In your case since both trishula and earth have "when summoned..." effects, as long as it is properly summoned and its effect is not negated, its effect will still activate no matter what your opponent chains. It's effect will not activate only when your opponent chains cards to negate its summon, for example, solemn warning, or chain cards to negate its effect, like effect veiler
Back to top Go down
BlackAce-
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 772
Age : 19
Location : jurong
Registration date : 2010-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:37 pm

Ok thanks all that help
Back to top Go down
bahamut84
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1232
Age : 32
Location : Antartica
Registration date : 2007-12-16

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:32 am

shaunewbiez wrote:
For your two scenarios,

1)
Chain 1 - Earth
Chain 2 - Book of Moon

2)
Chain 1 - Bottomless Trap Hole
Chain 2 - Trishula

Resolve both backwards.

Why is trishula chain 2 lol

_________________

http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
Back to top Go down
http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:38 am

It's not? LOL. I got scammed -_- Some judge in a tourney said before that I have to chain Bottomless Trap Hole before his Trishula selects targets. -_-
Back to top Go down
Ball-Snow
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 786
Age : 25
Location : Singapore - Bishan
Registration date : 2009-03-03

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:13 am

shaunewbiez wrote:
It's not? LOL. I got scammed -_- Some judge in a tourney said before that I have to chain Bottomless Trap Hole before his Trishula selects targets. -_-

Ya, cos trishula's effect of removing is on resolution.
If you chain bottomless to it
Trishula chain 1
Bottomless chain 2


_________________
Beware
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:33 am

Eh? Oh, okay then I got it wrong lol! Thought it was declare upon activation. So yeah, it's

Chain 1 - Trishula
Chain 2 - Bottomless Trap Hole
Back to top Go down
hamtaro
Duelist
Duelist


Number of posts : 67
Age : 35
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2011-05-02

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:47 am

the judge probably wanted to say that u cant wait for him to say "i remove yr this cards from the game" then u chain with bottomless, because Trishula is not a targetting effect. When Trishula's effect activates thats all the player needs to say "i'm using Trishulas effect", then when the effect resolves opponent chooses the cards to be removed.
Back to top Go down
BlackAce-
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 772
Age : 19
Location : jurong
Registration date : 2010-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:34 am

So if i summon trishula opponent chain bottomless means trishula effect never get activated?
Back to top Go down
awesomehazelnuts
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1819
Age : 21
Location : west beach,florida
Registration date : 2010-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:43 am

BlackAce- wrote:
So if i summon trishula opponent chain bottomless means trishula effect never get activated?

It still activates...
Back to top Go down
http://highlevelgaming.wordpress.com
Yoan.Yuki
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 143
Age : 32
Location : Bogotá, Colombia
Registration date : 2011-07-03

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:12 am

BlackAce- wrote:
I summon earth opponent chain book of moon:does earth effect still activates?

Opponent summon trishula i chain bottomless trap hole does trishula effect still activates?

thanks alot
-
1. A chain is formed. (CL1. Earth - Optional Trigger Effect. CL2: Book of Moon: Quick-Play Spell) - Book of moon sets Earth, you can still search by Earth's effect, because its initial activation was not negated.
-
2. YES. Bottomless Trap Hole doesn't negate summons. Trishula doesn't need to be face-up when resolving the effect.
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:43 pm

Both effects will still go through, think about it this way.

Scenario 1:
Summon Earth, met the condition for it's effect as Earths summon didn't get negated, the effect is put on the chain block as Chain 1. Now the response opportunity is passed on to the opponent, he chains Book of Moon, it is put in the chain block as Chain 2. As no further effects are added onto the chain, it now starts to resolve backwards, Chain 2 being the first. Chain 2 flips Earth face-down, but did not negate Earth's effect, Chain 1 now is being resolved, effect goes through of searching.

Scenario 2:
Trishula is synchro summoned, being successfully synchro summoned, it met its effect activation requirements, its effect did not get negated by anything (Effect Veiler/Herald of Orange Light), its effect is now put on the chain block as Chain 1. Now the opportunity to respond is passed on to the opponent, he chains Bottomless Trap Hole, it is put in the chain block as Chain 2. Since no further effects are added onto the chain, it will resolve backwards again, similar to Scenario 1, having Chain 2 being the first to resolve. Chain 2 will destroy and remove Trishula from play when it's resolved. However, since Chain 2 did not negate Trishula's effect in any way, Chain 1 will be resolved having Trishula's effect take place, however, as targets for Trishula's effect is determined upon resolution of the effect, the player now selects the 3 targets for Trishulas effect, thus ending the chain afterwards.

Hope you have a better idea now.
Back to top Go down
BlackAce-
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 772
Age : 19
Location : jurong
Registration date : 2010-12-24

PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:37 pm

kk thanks everybody that helped Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Just some ruling question here    Today at 4:20 am

Back to top Go down
 
Just some ruling question here
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ruling question about Skill drain VS Jinzo
» Stardust Dragon ruling question.
» Ruling Question - BES Big Core MK-2
» Gemini Summon Ruling Question
» Ruling Question on Gemini Counter

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: