Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Damage step rulings

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
avengingknight
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 181
Age : 25
Location : sengkang
Registration date : 2010-06-25

PostSubject: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:04 pm

If i were to activate horn of the phantom beast targeting my tengu and opponent activates solemn judgement, can i still use forbidden lance after solem resolves declaring that im still in damage step...this is something like treeborn frog and econ during standby phase.
Back to top Go down
http://avengingknight.blogspot.com
bahamut84
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1232
Age : 32
Location : Antartica
Registration date : 2007-12-16

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:31 pm

Yes you can have multiple chain blocks at the start of damage step and during the flipping of a monster face up (which is still in damage step) but not during damage calculation.

Only one chain block is allowed during damage calculation.

_________________

http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
Back to top Go down
http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
avengingknight
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 181
Age : 25
Location : sengkang
Registration date : 2010-06-25

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:41 pm

Thanks cause some "pros" yesterday were saying that once opponent solemns than its straight away ends the damag step
Back to top Go down
http://avengingknight.blogspot.com
sherwynrocks
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 618
Age : 29
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2011-06-17

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:55 pm

sorry about that
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:52 pm

To baha: So once a chain ends in the damage step, you're allow to start another one?
Back to top Go down
sherwynrocks
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 618
Age : 29
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2011-06-17

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:19 pm

to shaunewbiez-yes
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:29 pm

There's a reason why I asked baha and not anyone else.
Back to top Go down
bahamut84
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1232
Age : 32
Location : Antartica
Registration date : 2007-12-16

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:00 pm

lol so hostile

Yes you can have multiple chain blocks during the damage step.

_________________

http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
Back to top Go down
http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
vampirerion
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1981
Age : 1483
Location : France
Registration date : 2010-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:04 pm

shaunewbiez wrote:
There's a reason why I asked baha and not anyone else.

they should have a like button in this forum. something like facebook.
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:26 pm

LOL. It wasn't meant to offend/insult anyone -_- If I wanted any random person to answer such a question I'd just have posted it. But since Baha is a judge, best leave it to him to answer. Very Happy

And are you serious? [censored by admin]. That means I've been cheated more than once before. Q_Q
Back to top Go down
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:57 pm

actually there are many substeps of the damage step, which are as follow:

Substep 1. Start of the Damage Step

Substep 2 Flipping the Face-Down Monster Face-Up (Effects that increase, decrease, halve, or double the ATK and/or DEF of a monster can be activated at this time, though it is uncommon to do so. )

Substep 3 Before Damage Calculation (Effects that increase, decrease, halve, or double the ATK and/or DEF of a monster are typically activated at this time. You are allowed to have multiple Chains for the use of activating these types of effects. If you activate "Rush Recklessly" and it is negated by your opponent's "Magic Jammer", you can start another Chain by activating "Rising Energy", etc.)

Substep 4 Damage Calculation (shrink cannot be activated here, while honest, kalut and the like can)

Substep 5 Battle Damage - After Damage Calculation

Substep 6 Resolve effects.

Substep 7 End of the Damage Step - Monster(s) Destroyed by Battle are Sent to the Graveyard

can refer to http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=610305 for more detailed explanation.

actually most of the tourneys in the past only applies one damage step rule, in the sense that there isnt so many substeps. hence that is also why there is the shrink overiding the honest issue, where shrink can never be able to if all the 7 substeps are present. because shrink can only be activated at substep 3 and/or earlier and honest can be activated at substep 4, unless of course you drop honest in chain to shrink.

basically you will have to clarify with the tournament judges how many substeps are they using in the damage step or they just lump into one. then you can make use of the various substeps to your own benefit.

yeah, so hope this helps.
Back to top Go down
avengingknight
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 181
Age : 25
Location : sengkang
Registration date : 2010-06-25

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:17 pm

thanks for the clarification,actually i was pretty sure about this but those "pros" out there insisted i was wrong and i knew them since abt 4-5 years ago so din wan argue back
Back to top Go down
http://avengingknight.blogspot.com
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:30 pm

so all you have to do is to clarify with the judge how many "damage step" are there, if only one is allowed then obviously they are right, if all 7 are present then they are wrong.

Back to top Go down
bahamut84
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1232
Age : 32
Location : Antartica
Registration date : 2007-12-16

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:58 pm

Actually all this while all the sub steps of damage step are used, but players are mostly ignorant and does a lot of short cut.

I believe that players are at the least using both "before damage calculation" and "Damage calculation", while the rest of the substeps are "not so important" other than resolving certain effects.

_________________

http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
Back to top Go down
http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
DSummon
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1337
Age : 32
Location : Duelist Academy
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:44 pm

There is no such thing as how many damage step is there. In every game, every judge will rule it that there is the full 7 sub-steps. However, a player obviously does not usually declare through all the 7 sub-steps, so it will be dependant on the situation at that point of time and the judge will decide how best to resolve the situation based on proper rulings.

Morale of story: If in doubt, check with your judge when a ruling question arises, but no, we do not have anything such as "lumped into 1 damage step"
Back to top Go down
http://www.duelingdays.blogspot.com
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:10 pm

In other words, when people ask "Damage step?", they probably only believe that there's only one time of

"Substep 3 Before Damage Calculation (Effects that increase, decrease, halve, or double the ATK and/or DEF of a monster are typically activated at this time. You are allowed to have multiple Chains for the use of activating these types of effects. If you activate "Rush Recklessly" and it is negated by your opponent's "Magic Jammer", you can start another Chain by activating "Rising Energy", etc.)"
Back to top Go down
Yoan.Yuki
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 143
Age : 32
Location : Bogotá, Colombia
Registration date : 2011-07-03

PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:48 am

People should read well.
Usually, the term "sub-Step" is not used in an official way. Still, People should announce most things happens in Damage Step.
-
I ask "entering Damage Step", then "Entering Damage Calculation" and/or "during Damage Calculation" (in case of Honest).
-
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Damage step rulings   Today at 7:12 am

Back to top Go down
 
Damage step rulings
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Damage step rulings
» Thunder King Rai oh vs. Gorz
» Solemn warning vs Gorz the Emissary of Darkness and.....
» [OCG Tribe Force News ] The Necloth of Decisive Armor
» Shooting Quasar Dragon

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: