Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

  Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
jusjustjustin
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 811
Age : 22
Location : payalebar
Registration date : 2010-11-06

PostSubject: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:44 pm

Hi I was wondering if this otk can work.

A chaos soldier equipped with an armory arm attacks an opponents monster. After destroying it, I would have a choice whether to attack again. But armory arm effect activates as well. So will I miss the timing for chaos soldier to attack again?
Back to top Go down
shaunewbiez
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1641
Age : 22
Location : Loyang, Pasir Ris
Registration date : 2008-01-13

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:16 pm

It can work. There's nothing to do with missing the timing.
Back to top Go down
jusjustjustin
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 811
Age : 22
Location : payalebar
Registration date : 2010-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:59 pm

Can explain why it had nothing to do with missing the timing?
Chaos soldier's effect is optional.

Chaos soldier's effect states that
● If this card destroyed your opponent's monster by battle, it can attack once again in a row.

In this case although the condition of destroying the opponent's monster is already met, the last thing to happen is the inflicting of damage by armory arm. So doesn't it miss the timing and hence u cannot attack again?

If something else happened after the activation condition was met, then you have missed the timing, and cannot activate the optional effect.
Taken from yugioh wikia. (although yugioh wikia sucks but still this is correct right?)
Back to top Go down
awesomehazelnuts
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1819
Age : 21
Location : west beach,florida
Registration date : 2010-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:09 pm

Since everyone knows that arms aid + BLS = OTK. People in tournaments do such a thing, im very sure that someone or somebody might have checked the ruling therefore such a combo such as that will not miss timing and is legal, if not no one will post about such a combo.
Back to top Go down
http://highlevelgaming.wordpress.com
hamtaro
Duelist
Duelist


Number of posts : 67
Age : 35
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2011-05-02

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:27 pm

its good to always ask about rulings since:
1) there are lots of times when the majority plays wrongly
2) konami likes to change its rules every now and then

anyway back to TS question, i think the reason is in their text wording. CS effect activates right after the monster is decided to be destroyed. Armory Arms effect activates after the equipped monster destroys a monster and sends it to the grave. so theres completely nothing here relating to missing timing.

timeline wise it goes something like this
monster gets destroyed (CS, Jurrac Guaiba effect etc happens here) -> reverse effects activate -> monster gets sent to grave (critter, killer tomato, BF Shura effect etc happens here)
Back to top Go down
jusjustjustin
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 811
Age : 22
Location : payalebar
Registration date : 2010-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:51 pm

i see. ok thanks for your help! Smile
Back to top Go down
Yoan.Yuki
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 143
Age : 32
Location : Bogotá, Colombia
Registration date : 2011-07-03

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:42 am

This is the new text for Armory Arm:

Once per turn, you can either: Target 1 monster on the field; equip this card to that target, OR: Unequip this card and Special Summon it in face-up Attack Position. While equipped by this effect, that target gains 1000 ATK. When that target destroys a monster by battle and sends it to the Graveyard: Inflict damage to your opponent equal to the ATK of the destroyed monster in the Graveyard.

-
It was notified (by forums) that "Attack once again in a row" activates at the Damage Step, when others "Destroy by battle" effects.
-

Both effects form a chain; being both mandatorial effects; you can place the chain in any order. The effect resolution is still clear: Armory Arm gives damage and BLS attack twice.
Back to top Go down
jusjustjustin
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 811
Age : 22
Location : payalebar
Registration date : 2010-11-06

PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:27 pm

Bls' effect isn't mandatory. Is it?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm   Today at 2:02 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Chaos Soldier Eotb + Armory Arm
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Black Luster Sketch's "Chaos Soldier" deck
» ::Shinra Soldier's Armory.: Selling 4* - 6* ~ Get your GW units before trade lock!
» "Chaos" Verz Deck Help/Rate
» Engine of chaos ideas (?)
» Salvo Chaos deck

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: