Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 machina fortress vs gale the hurricane

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
aquadolphin
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 127
Age : 25
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2009-11-25

PostSubject: machina fortress vs gale the hurricane   Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:43 pm

situation:

oppenent field: Machina fortress, set torrential tribute

my field: gale the hurricane

1) gale summoned, priority to half attack activates, target fortress
2) opp activates torrential tribute at this moment of time

Qn: Will machina fortress effect of dropping a hand card still be activated?

Thanks
Back to top Go down
Viral
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 436
Age : 27
Location : Eunos
Registration date : 2009-05-24

PostSubject: Re: machina fortress vs gale the hurricane   Tue Nov 16, 2010 8:47 pm

From wikia:

When "Machina Fortress" is targeted by an opponent's monster's effect, its effect which discards a card from your opponent's hand does not start a Chain Link.[2]

so, yes. it will
Back to top Go down
YuGiLoo
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 350
Age : 19
Location : real madrid. (:
Registration date : 2010-09-08

PostSubject: Re: machina fortress vs gale the hurricane   Tue Nov 16, 2010 9:00 pm

yes fortress effect can still activate.
Back to top Go down
http://www.youtube.com/user/YuGiLoo
Akira
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 163
Age : 29
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2008-04-01

PostSubject: Re: machina fortress vs gale the hurricane   Tue Nov 16, 2010 11:02 pm

Even though Machina Fortress' discarding effect does not use the chain link, it needs to be face-up on your field when the effect that targets it resolves. That is to say it is applied at the same timing as the resolution of the effect that targets it.

Chain 1: BF-Gale's Effect (Machina Fortress' Effect)
Chain 2: Torrential Tribute
Resolving the chain, Torrential Tribute would resolves first, destroying both Machina Fortress and BF-Gale. When BF-Gale's effect attempts to resolves, since Machina Fortress is no longer face-up on the field, Machina Fortress' effect is not applied.

Source:
Quote :
If "Machina Fortress" is not on the field at resolution, then do you apply the effect which discards from the opponent's hand?

Suppose "Machina Fortress" is targeted by an opponent's Effect Monster's effect and then "Enemy Controller" is Chained. After resolving the effect of "Enemy Controller", "Machina Fortress" is under your opponent's control, so when resolving the opponent's Effect Monster's effect "Machina Fortress" is no longer treated as "being targeted by an opponent's Effect Monster's effect". Thus, you do not apply the effect of "Machina Fortress" which discards one card from the opponent's hand.
Translation from Wikia: Card Rulings:Machina Fortress
Original question from Konami FAQ: 「マシンナーズ・フォートレス」が効果処理時に存在しない場合、相手の手札を捨てる効果は適用されますか?
Back to top Go down
http://duelistcodex.wordpress.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: machina fortress vs gale the hurricane   Today at 6:13 pm

Back to top Go down
 
machina fortress vs gale the hurricane
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Machina Fortress
» Rulings for Machina Fortress
» Machina Fortress vs A.O.J Catastor
» machina fortress
» Machina Fortress vs Macro Cosmos

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: