Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Obelisk the Tormentor discussion

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
IndigoEyes
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 132
Age : 27
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:38 pm

How does the legal Obelisk the Tormentor work?

Source - http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Obelisk_the_Tormentor

You must Tribute 3 monsters to Normal Summon this card (you cannot Set this card). The Normal Summon of this card cannot be negated. When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated. This card cannot be targeted by the effects of Spells, Traps or Effect Monsters. If this card is Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. You can Tribute 2 monsters to destroy all monsters your opponent controls. This card cannot declare an attack the turn this effect is activated.

Red Bolded sentence -
1. Does it mean that if this card is on the field (if summoned normally) and no players can activate any Spells, Traps and Effect Monster?

Reason: It already stated earlier that the normal summon cannot be negated and it cannot be targeted by effects of spells, traps and effects monsters. So that effect is = to Jinzo + Horus?

Another scenario: That effect = Magic, Traps and Effect monsters only cannot be activated at the point of it being summon.
This one doesn't make sense because it already stated the sentences before and after that it cannot be target by any spells, traps and effect. (See the yellow sentences) So repeating the effect in a different use of words is illogical.

It's very confusing.

This topic is open for discussion.
Back to top Go down
Machinist
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 205
Age : 35
Location : Sembawang
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:44 pm

When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated.

The sentence literally mean no spell, trap or effect monster effect can be activated the turn Obelisk is normal summoned. You need to read the context carefully. It's the same as Monarch or one time effect synchro monster.
Back to top Go down
IndigoEyes
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 132
Age : 27
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:52 pm

Machinist wrote:
When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated.

The sentence literally mean no spell, trap or effect monster effect can be activated the turn Obelisk is normal summoned. You need to read the context carefully. It's the same as Monarch or one time effect synchro monster.

Cool. Thanks.
However, shouldn't the card description could be more clearer and said:
"During the turn this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated."

If it's "When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated.", it could be anything lol.
Back to top Go down
Machinist
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 205
Age : 35
Location : Sembawang
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:56 pm

Yeah, I know. That is why I hate Konami for making vague sentence. Probably cut short the sentence for some space.
Back to top Go down
DSummon
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1337
Age : 32
Location : Duelist Academy
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:27 am

Both of you need to get your facts right. It is not stated as the turn for a reason. It is because it IS only for the moment that it is summoned, not for the entire turn.

Meaning, you cannot bottomless trap hole, torrential tribute, or any other random effect that activates just as it is SUMMONED.

However, once it is passed the summoned stage, you are free to do anything to it. AKA, mirror force on it, spiked ceiling, lick it, chew it, etc etc. As long as it does not go against the cannot be targetted effect, it is fine...
Back to top Go down
http://www.duelingdays.blogspot.com
IndigoEyes
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 132
Age : 27
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:41 am

Woah, if it's like that, then Obelisk is very vunerable and 3 tributes not worth it.

What about the 2nd yellow effect?
"This card cannot be targeted by the effects of Spells, Traps or Effect Monsters."

Does bottomless trap hole still work against it?

If bottomless trap hole (target trap) cannot target Obelisk, mass effect like dark hole and mirror force can still destroy it right?

So now, is the group of effect like this? (Green text = 1 group, Yellow text = 1 group)

1. The Normal Summon of this card cannot be negated. (Summon only)
2. When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated. (Summon only)
3. This card cannot be targeted by the effects of Spells, Traps or Effect Monsters. (As long on the field)

Back to top Go down
Machinist
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 205
Age : 35
Location : Sembawang
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:45 am

BTH does not target.

Activate only when your opponent Summons a monster(s) with 1500 or more ATK. Destroy and remove from play the monster(s).

See the plural?

Oh my bad, I thought it last for a turn, never though it only the time it is summoned that it is immuned to everything. Since mirror force, dark hole, lightning vortex does not target, it can destroy Obelisk.
Back to top Go down
IndigoEyes
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 132
Age : 27
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:52 am

Oh yeah, I missed the plural for bottomless trap hole.

What about the normal Trap Hole?
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Trap_Hole

Dark armed dragon effect and man-eater bug can't kill it too right?
Back to top Go down
Machinist
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 205
Age : 35
Location : Sembawang
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:54 am

Trap Hole can't kill it because of this Obelisk Effect.
When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated.

DAD and Man Eater Bug can't kill it because they target and destroy.
Back to top Go down
bahamut84
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1232
Age : 32
Location : Antartica
Registration date : 2007-12-16

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:00 am

The Normal Summon of this card cannot be negated.
- means you can't Solemn/Divine Warning

When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated.
- Means you cannot activate Traphole of all kinds or Torrential Tribute or anything that has activation related to a summon or any random card that u wanna activate at this point such as book of moon even though there is no reason to.

This card cannot be targeted by the effects of Spells, Traps or Effect monster
- This is in english and can't be simplified anymore.

Awesome sounding yes, but when you opponent use smashing ground next turn, you can face palm.

_________________

http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
Back to top Go down
http://duelingdays.blogspot.com
IndigoEyes
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 132
Age : 27
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2010-10-23

PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:40 pm

Thanks guys.

The effect is more clearer now. Smile
Smashing ground = Must have for anti god deck.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Obelisk the Tormentor discussion   Today at 12:58 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Obelisk the Tormentor discussion
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Obelisk the Tormentor discussion
» [OCG Promo] Alternate Art Obelisk The Tormentor & Event Details
» Frog Monarchs
» Card of the Week 6-23-13: Magical Hats
» Phoenix King's GFX Shop

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: