Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Effect Veiler

View previous topic View next topic Go down 

Can Effect Veiler's effect be activated during your own turn?
Yes
36%
 36% [ 4 ]
No
64%
 64% [ 7 ]
Total Votes : 11
 

AuthorMessage
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Effect Veiler   Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:49 pm


Basketball


Last edited by Lauren on Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Effect Veiler   Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:54 pm

I would like to ask if Effect Veiler's effect can be activated on your own turn. In my opinion, I believe you can't. Because its text states that During your opponent ' s Main Phase ,
you can send this card from your
hand to the Graveyard to select 1
face - up Effect Monster your
opponent controls. Negate the effect
(s ) of that monster until the End
Phase .
This means that you can only activate its effect during your opponent's turn, as it does not state anything about activating its effect on your own turn. Also, its text is similarly worded to Formula Synchron's During your opponent ' s Main
Phase , you can Synchro Summon if
you use this face - up card as a
Synchro Material Monster .
If you can activate Effect Veiler's effect on your own turn, does this mean that you can chain Formula Synchron's effect to something like Book Of Moon during your own turn.


Last edited by Lauren on Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
kouSUKE
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 425
Age : 23
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2009-03-19

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:09 am

just read the japanese wordings. effect veilers states that it can ONLY be activated during opponents main phase. As for formula synchron, apart for the additional effect that it can be chained as a response during your opponents turn, during your turn, its probably just a normal tuner which is a synchro monster, so i doubt you can chain its effect to book of moon.

so anyway, effect veiler clearly states that it can only be activated during your opponents main phase which is his turn, so you cant use it during your turn.
Back to top Go down
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:17 am

Ya, thats what I thought too.
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
Takoyaki
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 320
Age : 20
Location : Singapore, AMK
Registration date : 2009-06-26

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:26 am

Quote :
just read the japanese wordings. effect veilers states that it can ONLY be activated during opponents main phase. As for formula synchron, apart for the additional effect that it can be chained as a response during your opponents turn, during your turn, its probably just a normal tuner which is a synchro monster, so i doubt you can chain its effect to book of moon.

so anyway, effect veiler clearly states that it can only be activated during your opponents main phase which is his turn, so you cant use it during your turn.

since when effect veiler states that it can only be activated during your opponent's main phase?
Back to top Go down
pokekid88
Yugi Mutou
Yugi Mutou


Number of posts : 3820
Age : 28
Location : SG
Registration date : 2007-12-18

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:38 am

Takoyaki wrote:
Quote :
just read the japanese wordings. effect veilers states that it can ONLY be activated during opponents main phase. As for formula synchron, apart for the additional effect that it can be chained as a response during your opponents turn, during your turn, its probably just a normal tuner which is a synchro monster, so i doubt you can chain its effect to book of moon.

so anyway, effect veiler clearly states that it can only be activated during your opponents main phase which is his turn, so you cant use it during your turn.

since when effect veiler states that it can only be activated during your opponent's main phase?


このカードを手札から墓地へ送り、相手フィールド上に表側表示で存在する効果モンスター1体を選択して発動する。選択した相手モンスターの効果をエンドフェイズ時まで無効にする。この効果は相手のメインフェイズ時のみ発動する事ができる。

《禁じられた聖杯》と違い、自分のターンでは発動できない点に注意。
Difference from "Forbidden Chalice", this card cannot be activated on your own turn.


http://yugioh-wiki.net/index.php?cmd=read&page=%A1%D4%A5%A8%A5%D5%A5%A7%A5%AF%A5%C8%A1%A6%A5%F4%A5%A7%A1%BC%A5%E9%A1%BC%A1%D5&word=%A5%A8%A5%D5%A5%A7%A5%AF%A5%C8%A1%A6%A5%F4%A5%A7%A1%BC%A5%E9%A1%BC%20
Back to top Go down
http://time-to-get-pwned.blogspot.com/
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:40 am

Lol thanks Poke , Poke is the best!!!!
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:51 am

Takoyaki wrote:
Quote :
just read the japanese wordings. effect veilers states that it can ONLY be activated during opponents main phase. As for formula synchron, apart for the additional effect that it can be chained as a response during your opponents turn, during your turn, its probably just a normal tuner which is a synchro monster, so i doubt you can chain its effect to book of moon.

so anyway, effect veiler clearly states that it can only be activated during your opponents main phase which is his turn, so you cant use it during your turn.

since when effect veiler states that it can only be activated during your opponent's main phase?

It does state only during your opponent's main phase in the last line この効果は相手のメインフェイズ時のみ発動する事ができる。
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
Tyco
Duelist
Duelist


Number of posts : 35
Age : 25
Location : Somewhere lo...
Registration date : 2010-06-27

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:18 am

Yeah... so why're you still asking this question...=.="
Back to top Go down
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:06 am

Just confirming and to show Takoyaki.
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
Blackie
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 395
Age : 23
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2009-11-18

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:08 pm

But English one never say "ONLY your opponent's Main Phase", it says "During your opponent's Main Phase". Effect Veiler's effect is a quick effect, Necro Gardna's effect is also a quick effect and you can RFG Necro Gardna on your own turn right also I think...

My opinion is that it can be activated during anytime during your turn except damage step and during your opponent's turn, only the Main Phase.

I may be wrong but LOL just giving my thoughts.
Back to top Go down
pokekid88
Yugi Mutou
Yugi Mutou


Number of posts : 3820
Age : 28
Location : SG
Registration date : 2007-12-18

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:44 pm

The card will usually states when it can be activated...

and its stated in the jap ygo wikia that this card is difference from "Forbidden Chalice" since it can ONLY be activated during opponent's main phase.
Back to top Go down
http://time-to-get-pwned.blogspot.com/
DSummon
Millennium Earl
Millennium Earl


Number of posts : 1337
Age : 32
Location : Duelist Academy
Registration date : 2007-12-15

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:58 pm

@Blackie It just says during opp main phase you can activate, nothing mentioned about any other times, so its taken as only during opp main phase. You just need to read it in another method
Back to top Go down
http://www.duelingdays.blogspot.com
pokekid88
Yugi Mutou
Yugi Mutou


Number of posts : 3820
Age : 28
Location : SG
Registration date : 2007-12-18

PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:05 am

I wonder y still got 4 people voting "Yes" while the answer is written on the card itself...

Blind?
Back to top Go down
http://time-to-get-pwned.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Effect Veiler   Today at 12:32 am

Back to top Go down
 
Effect Veiler
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Effect Veiler V Yubel
» Effect Veiler limit*
» [Discussion] How Do You Use Effect Veiler?
» effect veiler vs morphing jar~
» Effect Veiler vs Effects in the End Phase

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: