Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 some ruling questions before worlds

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: some ruling questions before worlds   Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:05 pm

As topic, there are a few questions in mind, hence would like to raise it up before worlds so that we can know what the ruling will be like. and also to allow discussion for the common questions.

before that do keep in mind that there are 7 substeps in the damage step, and they are as follow:

Sub-step 1: Start of the Damage Step
Sub-step 2: Flipping the Face-Down Monster Face-Up
Sub-step 3: Before Damage Calculation
Sub-step 4: Damage Calculation
Sub-step 5: Battle Damage - After Damage Calculation
Sub-step 6: Resolve effects
Sub-step 7: End of the Damage Step - Monster(s) Destroyed by Battle are Sent to the Graveyard

Q1. Goyo vs machina fortress( destruction part of the effect).
Machina fortress being mandatory effect and goyo guardian being optional effect, both effect take place at substep 7 of the damage step. Hence, a chain is formed following the principle that Sequence of event goes on chain( SEGOC). And they are as follow:

1. Turn player Mandatory effect.
2. Non turn player mandatory effect.
3. Turn player optional effect.
4. Non turn player optional effect.

Hence, regardless of whether goyo attacks machina fortress or machina fortress attacks goyo, machina fortress being mandatory will always be in chain link 1 and goyo chain link 2. as such, goyo can always take machina fortress if the player wishes to.

Q2. Shura (dropping kalut) vs machina fortress(destruction part of the effect).

Shura works the same way as goyo guardian, and both effect takes place at the end of the damage step(substep 7) and being optional effect. Hence shura is able to special summon another blackwing monster from the deck as it is on chain link 2.

Q3. How many substeps are allowed in this tournament?

So these are the main questions that i have in mind for now, do feel free to add on and discuss. can i know how the judges will rule on such scenarios? thank you.
Back to top Go down
XiaoCola
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1426
Age : 22
Location : On The Moon.
Registration date : 2009-02-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Sun Jun 13, 2010 11:36 pm

-BOOMZ-
Question Solved


Last edited by XiaoCola on Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Lauren
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 186
Age : 22
Location : Ang Mo Kio
Registration date : 2009-05-21

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:11 am

Then how about Shura with Kalut VS Snowman Eater? Does Shura get to search, or will Snowman Eater kill Shura first?


Last edited by Lauren on Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
http://ygoduelist.wordpress.com
holylight
Judai Yuki
Judai Yuki


Number of posts : 2304
Age : 20
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2010-04-22

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:12 am

kill shura first i think so
Back to top Go down
egoboy
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1056
Age : 21
Location : Harbourfront
Registration date : 2009-11-15

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:16 am

flip effect resolve first. shura die. dont get to search.
Back to top Go down
holylight
Judai Yuki
Judai Yuki


Number of posts : 2304
Age : 20
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2010-04-22

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:18 am

ya if got any ruling can ask rick or sam
Back to top Go down
FlareZ
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 192
Age : 20
Location : Hougang
Registration date : 2010-06-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:54 am

lol, and i tot thr were 9 Sub-Steps, so confusing~
Back to top Go down
andrewspectra
Junior Duelist
Junior Duelist


Number of posts : 406
Age : 25
Location : Penang,Malaysia
Registration date : 2009-05-19

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:01 am

FlareZ wrote:
lol, and i tot thr were 9 Sub-Steps, so confusing~

there are seven .

http://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/article.asp?id=2328

I think this article can help a lot explaining the sub-steps .

Hope it helps
Back to top Go down
http://www.andrewnwq.blogspot.com
AngryBoy92
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 601
Age : 24
Location : Sg
Registration date : 2008-10-15

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:10 am

wingwing98 wrote:
As topic, there are a few questions in mind, hence would like to raise it up before worlds so that we can know what the ruling will be like. and also to allow discussion for the common questions.

before that do keep in mind that there are 7 substeps in the damage step, and they are as follow:

Sub-step 1: Start of the Damage Step
Sub-step 2: Flipping the Face-Down Monster Face-Up
Sub-step 3: Before Damage Calculation
Sub-step 4: Damage Calculation
Sub-step 5: Battle Damage - After Damage Calculation
Sub-step 6: Resolve effects
Sub-step 7: End of the Damage Step - Monster(s) Destroyed by Battle are Sent to the Graveyard

Q1. Goyo vs machina fortress( destruction part of the effect).
Machina fortress being mandatory effect and goyo guardian being optional effect, both effect take place at substep 7 of the damage step. Hence, a chain is formed following the principle that Sequence of event goes on chain( SEGOC). And they are as follow:

1. Turn player Mandatory effect.
2. Non turn player mandatory effect.
3. Turn player optional effect.
4. Non turn player optional effect.

Hence, regardless of whether goyo attacks machina fortress or machina fortress attacks goyo, machina fortress being mandatory will always be in chain link 1 and goyo chain link 2. as such, goyo can always take machina fortress if the player wishes to.

Q2. Shura (dropping kalut) vs machina fortress(destruction part of the effect).

Shura works the same way as goyo guardian, and both effect takes place at the end of the damage step(substep 7) and being optional effect. Hence shura is able to special summon another blackwing monster from the deck as it is on chain link 2.

Q3. How many substeps are allowed in this tournament?

So these are the main questions that i have in mind for now, do feel free to add on and discuss. can i know how the judges will rule on such scenarios? thank you.

The part on whether goyou guardian attacks machina 1st or machina attacks goyou guardian 1st is not correct.
For example

Player A has machina fortress on the field where as Player B has Goyou Guardian on the field

Player A uses machina fortress to attack Goyou Guardian

Turn player optional effect trigger 1st thus machina fortress will be at chain 1 thus Goyou Guardian's effect will be on Chain 2 which allows Player B to choose whether to take Machina Fortress or not before machina triggers its effect.

However if

Player A has machina fortress on the field where as Player B has Goyou Guardian on the field

Plater B decides to attack with his Goyou Guardian on Machina Fortress ,that will be different.

Goyou Guardian's effect will be on Chain 1 due to Turn player effect trigger 1st thus Machina Fortress effect will be on Chain 2 which allows machina fortress to destroy goyou before goyou can use its effect
Back to top Go down
XiaoCola
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1426
Age : 22
Location : On The Moon.
Registration date : 2009-02-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:34 am

Then What About Goyo and Colossal Guardian?
Is it always the colossal that win?
Back to top Go down
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:36 pm

AngryBoy92 wrote:
wingwing98 wrote:
As topic, there are a few questions in mind, hence would like to raise it up before worlds so that we can know what the ruling will be like. and also to allow discussion for the common questions.

before that do keep in mind that there are 7 substeps in the damage step, and they are as follow:

Sub-step 1: Start of the Damage Step
Sub-step 2: Flipping the Face-Down Monster Face-Up
Sub-step 3: Before Damage Calculation
Sub-step 4: Damage Calculation
Sub-step 5: Battle Damage - After Damage Calculation
Sub-step 6: Resolve effects
Sub-step 7: End of the Damage Step - Monster(s) Destroyed by Battle are Sent to the Graveyard

Q1. Goyo vs machina fortress( destruction part of the effect).
Machina fortress being mandatory effect and goyo guardian being optional effect, both effect take place at substep 7 of the damage step. Hence, a chain is formed following the principle that Sequence of event goes on chain( SEGOC). And they are as follow:

1. Turn player Mandatory effect.
2. Non turn player mandatory effect.
3. Turn player optional effect.
4. Non turn player optional effect.

Hence, regardless of whether goyo attacks machina fortress or machina fortress attacks goyo, machina fortress being mandatory will always be in chain link 1 and goyo chain link 2. as such, goyo can always take machina fortress if the player wishes to.

Q2. Shura (dropping kalut) vs machina fortress(destruction part of the effect).

Shura works the same way as goyo guardian, and both effect takes place at the end of the damage step(substep 7) and being optional effect. Hence shura is able to special summon another blackwing monster from the deck as it is on chain link 2.

Q3. How many substeps are allowed in this tournament?

So these are the main questions that i have in mind for now, do feel free to add on and discuss. can i know how the judges will rule on such scenarios? thank you.

The part on whether goyou guardian attacks machina 1st or machina attacks goyou guardian 1st is not correct.
For example

Player A has machina fortress on the field where as Player B has Goyou Guardian on the field

Player A uses machina fortress to attack Goyou Guardian

Turn player optional effect trigger 1st thus machina fortress will be at chain 1 thus Goyou Guardian's effect will be on Chain 2 which allows Player B to choose whether to take Machina Fortress or not before machina triggers its effect.

However if

Player A has machina fortress on the field where as Player B has Goyou Guardian on the field

Plater B decides to attack with his Goyou Guardian on Machina Fortress ,that will be different.

Goyou Guardian's effect will be on Chain 1 due to Turn player effect trigger 1st thus Machina Fortress effect will be on Chain 2 which allows machina fortress to destroy goyou before goyou can use its effect

1. Turn player Mandatory effect.
2. Non turn player mandatory effect.
3. Turn player optional effect.
4. Non turn player optional effect.

machina fortress is an MANDATORY effect, while goyo guardian is an OPTIONAL effect, so according to SEGOC, MANDATORY effect is placed at chain link 1 before OPTIONAL effect is at chain link 2.

the above scenario will be right, if and only if machina fortress effect is optional.

can i know if its effect is ruled as an optional effect or mandatory effect?



Back to top Go down
AngryBoy92
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 601
Age : 24
Location : Sg
Registration date : 2008-10-15

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:33 am

Ps my mistake forget machina is mandatory effect
Back to top Go down
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:24 pm

so how is it ruled? can goyo still take machina fortress regardless of whether which monster attacks first?

thank you very much for the clarification. =)
Back to top Go down
je$$
Privaron
Privaron


Number of posts : 1339
Age : 8
Location : admiralty
Registration date : 2007-12-21

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:45 pm

^ yes


Quote :
Then What About Goyo and Colossal Guardian?
Is it always the colossal that win?

goyo needs to be on field to have its effect activated,same as shura.

_________________
Quote :
Yea . U also one of his puppet and all the player present on that day were all actors . Nice movie director .

BUYING TRADING SELLING THREAD CLICK HEREEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Quote :
Everyone has a mask. And we have more than a mask. It's nothing to do with split personalities, just that we play too many roles in life.

A husband / father / son cannot play his 3 roles with the same mask. It'll be so weird!

But my question is, what is me behind my labels and my masks?
What is the real me?
Back to top Go down
holylight
Judai Yuki
Judai Yuki


Number of posts : 2304
Age : 20
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2010-04-22

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:10 pm

ya if colossal fighter have no warrior in grave wack goyo the colossal will come back goyo will die
Back to top Go down
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:16 pm

both are optional effect, so you can form a chain and resolve. chain link 1 will be the turn player.
Back to top Go down
holylight
Judai Yuki
Judai Yuki


Number of posts : 2304
Age : 20
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2010-04-22

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:38 pm

cannot
Back to top Go down
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:48 pm

what u mean by cannot?cannot form chain or wat?
Back to top Go down
holylight
Judai Yuki
Judai Yuki


Number of posts : 2304
Age : 20
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2010-04-22

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:55 pm

cannot form chain because goyo will die with colossal fighter so cannot take
Back to top Go down
MYultimate
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 588
Age : 28
Location : singapore
Registration date : 2008-09-22

PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Wed Jun 16, 2010 3:33 am

holylight wrote:
cannot form chain because goyo will die with colossal fighter so cannot take

[Off topic] but colossal fighter can choose to special summon goyou =D
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: some ruling questions before worlds   Today at 2:15 am

Back to top Go down
 
some ruling questions before worlds
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» mark 3 questions
» Card Ruling at Diamond Dude?
» Horus Questions
» Dr Gunther von Hagen's Body Worlds exhibitions
» Newbie Questions

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: