Welcome to Yugioh! Singapore forum. Please login.

Have a nice day.


A place for YuGiOh fans or players to gather and chat
 
HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Royal Oppression Rulings

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
xDestinyx
Duelist
Duelist


Number of posts : 79
Age : 24
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2010-01-17

PostSubject: Royal Oppression Rulings   Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:55 am

TCG Rulings :

There are basically 2 ways to Special Summon a monster. The first way is with a Spell Card like "Monster Reborn", a Trap Card like "Call of the Haunted", or an Effect Monster like "Magical Scientist". The second way is built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect, such as "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" or "Dark Necrofear". "Royal Oppression" can negate both of these types of Special Summon. In the first case, you chain the activation of "Royal Oppression"'s effect to the activation of the Spell, Trap, or Monster Card's effect, and negate the effect. In the second case, right before the monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon (the same procedure that you use for "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment").[1]

Example 1: If "Marauding Captain" is Normal Summoned, its effect activates. You can chain to this effect by activating the effect of "Royal Oppression". The effect of "Marauding Captain" is negated, no monster is Special Summoned, and the "Marauding Captain" is destroyed. (The monster your opponent intended to Special Summon with the effect of "Marauding Captain" remains in his hand.)[1]

Example 2: If "Cyber Jar" is Flip Summoned and its Flip Effect activates, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" in a chain to the Flip Effect. The effect of "Cyber Jar" is negated, no monsters on the field are destroyed by its effect, no cards are picked up, no monsters are Special Summoned, and "Cyber Jar" is destroyed by the effect of "Royal Oppression".[1]

Example 3: If "Call of the Haunted" is activated, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" in a chain. The effect of "Call of the Haunted" is negated, and a monster is not Special Summoned.[1]

The effects of face-up Trap Cards cannot be activated during the Damage Step, so this card's effect cannot negate the Special Summoning of a monster by the effect of "Mystic Tomato" or a "Cyber Jar" flipped face-up by an attack.[1]

You can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" as a chain to "Monster Gate". No cards will be picked up, and no monster will be Special Summoned (The opponent still must have Tributed a monster as a cost).[1]

You can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate an effect that Summons 1 monster, or Summons multiple monsters (like "Cyber Jar", "The Shallow Grave", or "Valkyrion the Magna Warrior").[1]

When "Monster Reborn" is activated to Special Summon "Jinzo", you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" in a chain to negate the Special Summon because "Jinzo" is not on the field until the chain resolves.[1]

If you have "Royal Oppression" face-up on your side of the field, and your opponent attempts to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear", and you activate the effect of your "Royal Oppression", then "Dark Necrofear" will activate its effect in the Graveyard and return to the field as an Equip Spell Card. But if your opponent had "Royal Oppression" face-up on his side of the field, and you activate the effect of your opponent’s "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon of your opponent’s "Dark Necrofear", then "Dark Necrofear" does not activate its effect in the Graveyard, because it was destroyed by an effect controlled by its owner, not by its owner’s opponent (even though the owner did not activate the effect, he still controls the "Royal Oppression" card).[1]

When "Insect Queen" destroys your opponent's monster, an "Insect Monster Token" is Special Summoned during the End Phase, and the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated at that time to negate the Special Summon and destroy "Insect Queen".[1]

When "Jam Breeding Machine" activates its effect to Special Summon a "Slime Token" in the Standby Phase, and the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated at that time to negate the Special Summon and destroy "Jam Breeding Machine".[1]

If the effect of "Royal Oppression" is activated, and "Mystical Space Typhoon" or "Dust Tornado" is chained to destroy "Royal Oppression", then the effect of "Royal Oppression" disappears because it is a Continuous Trap Card, and the Special Summon will not be negated.[1]

The effects of face-up Trap Cards cannot be activated during the Damage Step, so this card's effect cannot negate the Special Summoning of a monster by the effect of "Mystic Tomato" or a "Cyber Jar" flipped face-up by an attack.[1]

You can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" as a chain to "Monster Gate". No cards will be picked up, and no monster will be Special Summoned (The opponent still must have Tributed a monster as a cost).[1]

You can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate an effect that Summons 1 monster, or Summons multiple monsters (like "Cyber Jar", "The Shallow Grave", or "Valkyrion the Magna Warrior").[1]

When "Monster Reborn" is activated to Special Summon "Jinzo", you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" in a chain to negate the Special Summon because "Jinzo" is not on the field until the chain resolves.[1]

If you have "Royal Oppression" face-up on your side of the field, and your opponent attempts to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear", and you activate the effect of your "Royal Oppression", then "Dark Necrofear" will activate its effect in the Graveyard and return to the field as an Equip Spell Card. But if your opponent had "Royal Oppression" face-up on his side of the field, and you activate the effect of your opponent’s "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon of your opponent’s "Dark Necrofear", then "Dark Necrofear" does not activate its effect in the Graveyard, because it was destroyed by an effect controlled by its owner, not by its owner’s opponent (even though the owner did not activate the effect, he still controls the "Royal Oppression" card).[1]

When "Insect Queen" destroys your opponent's monster, an "Insect Monster Token" is Special Summoned during the End Phase, and the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated at that time to negate the Special Summon and destroy "Insect Queen".[1]

When "Jam Breeding Machine" activates its effect to Special Summon a "Slime Token" in the Standby Phase, and the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated at that time to negate the Special Summon and destroy "Jam Breeding Machine".[1]

If the effect of "Royal Oppression" is activated, and "Mystical Space Typhoon" or "Dust Tornado" is chained to destroy "Royal Oppression", then the effect of "Royal Oppression" disappears because it is a Continuous Trap Card, and the Special Summon will not be negated.[1]

Judge List Rulings

"Royal Oppression" can be activated multiple times during the same Chain, however its effect needs to be activated in response to the card it wants to negate.[1]

The effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated to negate a Synchro Summon.[1]

The timing for activating "Royal Oppression" is the same as the timing used by "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment" to negate "Inherent" Special Summon. You can also do this when your opponent performs a "Contact Fusion" of a "Neos" Fusion Monster or a "Gladiator Beast" Fusion Monster.[1]

If 2 or more effects have simultaneously formed a Chain, the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated, but it can only negate the effect it is chained against: it will negate the last one, but not all.[1]

"Royal Oppression" can be chained to negate "Crystal Beacon".[1]

"Royal Oppression" can be chained to negate "Crystal Promise".[1]

You can negate the Special Summon of "Cyber Dragon" with "Royal Oppression", "Solemn Judgment", or "Horn of Heaven".[1]

If "D.D. Scout Plane" is removed from play, and during the End Phase its effect is activated and negated by "Royal Oppression", "D.D. Scout Plane" remains removed from play.[1]

You can activate "Royal Oppression” against the special summon effect of “D.D. Survivor” when it activates during the End Phase. In this case, “D.D. Survivor” is not actually Special Summoned. “D.D. Survivor” remains removed from play (its effect doesn’t activate again.)[1]

If your "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" is destroyed by a "Royal Oppression" controlled by your opponent, it's effect will activate.[1]

If "Royal Oppression's" effect is activated to negate the Special Summon of a monster, like "Cyber Dragon" or "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus", "Prime Material Dragon's" effect cannot be chained because the monster being Special Summoned is not considered to be "on the field" until its Summon is successful. In the case of "Marauding Captain" or "Batteryman Micro-Cell" (flipped outside of the Damage Step), you can chain "Prime Material Dragon's" effect because "Royal Oppression" would be trying to destroy a monster card on the field. ("Royal Oppression" is trying to destroy the "Marauding Captain" or "Batteryman Micro-Cell".)[1]


OCG Rulings :

During the Damage Step, you can neither activate (flip face-up) "Royal Oppression" nor activate the effect of an already-face-up "Royal Oppression".[2][3][4]

Paying 800 LP is a cost.[4]

When used against the Special Summon of a Special-Summon-Only monster like "The Rock Spirit", "Royal Oppression" activates and negates the Special Summon before the Special Summon is successful.[4]

When used against a Spell/Trap/Monster Card's effect which makes a Chain, "Royal Oppression" activates in chain to the effect.[4]

You can chain "Royal Oppression" to "Crystal Abundance", even if "Crystal Abundance" cannot Special Summon anything.[5]

You can negate a Synchro Summon with "Horn of Heaven", "Solemn Judgment", "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Royal Oppression", etc. You activate "Horn of Heaven" etc before the Summon is successful, but after the Synchro Material Monsters are sent to the Graveyard. The Synchro Material Monsters remain sent to the Graveyard, and the Synchro Summon is not considered successful.[6]

When "Trap Eater" is Special Summoned by sending "Royal Oppression" to the Graveyard, "Royal Oppression" is already sent to the Graveyard, so you cannot activate its effect to negate the Special Summon of "Trap Eater" and destroy it.[7]

The effect of "Royal Oppression" can negate the "Future Fusion" when "Future Fusion" is first activated. However, during the second Standby Phase when the Fusion Monster is Special Summoned, you cannot activate the effect of "Royal Oppression".[8]

The effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be activated when "Black Garden" is activated from the hand. However, when either effect of "Black Garden" is activated, "Royal Oppression" can be chained to negate the effect of and destroy "Black Garden".[9]

If "Royal Oppression" is activated to negate the Special Summon of a monster - like "Dark Armed Dragon" - from the hand, the monster is not considered to be on the field, so "My Body as a Shield" cannot be activated.[10]

When the "Attack Position:" effect of "Morphtronic Celfon" is activated, "Royal Oppression" can be chained to negate the effect of and destroy "Morphtronic Celfon". However, the "Defence Position:" effect of "Morphtronic Celfon" cannot Special Summon a monster, so "Royal Oppression" cannot be activated.[11]

The effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated neither when "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" is first activated nor when the "3+:" and "4+:" effects are activated. However, "Royal Oppression" can be activated in Chain to the "5+:" effect which Special Summons a monster being treated as a Continuous Spell Card. The "1+:" effect of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" will prevent it from being destroyed, but the effect which Special Summons a "Crystal Beast" monster will be negated.[12]

The effect of "Royal Oppression" can negate the activation of "Macro Cosmos" and destroy it, even though it is not known whether or not "Macro Cosmos" will Special Summon a "Helios - The Primordial Sun".[13]

When "Geartown" or "Morphtronic Map" is activated from the hand, the effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be activated.[14]

When the effect of "Stardust Dragon" which negates the activation of the effect of a Spell Card/Trap Card/Effect Monster Card is activated, the effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be activated. To negate the effect of "Stardust Dragon" which Special Summons itself, you must activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" in Chain to that effect of "Stardust Dragon" during the End Phase.[15]

When "Call of the Mummy" or "Valhalla, Hall of the Fallen" is activated from the hand and the player chooses to apply the effect which Special Summons a monster, the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated to negate the activation of the effect and destroy it. However, if the player activates "Call of the Mummy" or "Valhalla, Hall of the Fallen" from the hand and chooses not to apply its effect, then the effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be activated.[16]

When the effect of "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" which adds a "Six Samurai" monster from your Graveyard to your hand is activated, the effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be chained because the effect of "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" does not Special Summon a monster.[17]

For the effect of "Dark Armed Dragon" which destroys a card and the effect of "Judgment Dragon" which sends cards from the Deck to the Graveyard, these effects cannot Special Summon a monster at resolution, so "Royal Oppression" cannot be chained to these effects.[18]

For the effects of "Tragoedia" which give you control of an opponent's monster and which changes its Level, and the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind" which halves the ATK and DEF of an opponent's monster, these effects cannot Special Summon a monster at resolution, so the effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be chained to these effects. Also, "Royal Oppression" cannot negate the effect of "Tragoedia" which Special Summons it because the effect activates during the Damage Step.[19]

If you activate "Water Hazard" from your hand and choose to activate its effect to Special Summon a monster at the same time, then the effect of "Royal Oppression" can be chained to negate the activation of and destroy "Water Hazard". However, if you activate "Water Hazard" from your hand and do not activate its effect at the same time, then "Royal Oppression" cannot be chained.[20]

If the effect of a monster like "Gladiator Beast Alexander" is activated by returning it to the Deck, then the effect of "Royal Oppression" may be activated in Chain to the effect. If you do so, then the effect of "Gladiator Beast Alexander" will be negated, but the "Gladiator Beast Alexander" which was returned to the Deck to activate the effect will not be destroyed. Also, when the "Gladiator Beast" monster is Special Summoned by the resolution of the effect of "Gladiator Beast Alexander" you cannot interrupt the resolution by activating "Royal Oppression" at this time.[21]

The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. If the effect is negated by "Royal Oppression", then you also do not end the Battle Phase.[22]

~ Please take note of the ruling ~ Thank you ! ~
Back to top Go down
wingwing98
Elite Duelist
Elite Duelist


Number of posts : 1083
Age : 27
Location : bishan
Registration date : 2008-09-07

PostSubject: Re: Royal Oppression Rulings   Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:04 pm

woah...so long.
Back to top Go down
je$$
Privaron
Privaron


Number of posts : 1339
Age : 8
Location : admiralty
Registration date : 2007-12-21

PostSubject: Re: Royal Oppression Rulings   Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:16 pm

i dont know whats this for all i know is that

oppression can negate any card that has the word Special summon

oppression cannot negate the special summon during resolution

_________________
Quote :
Yea . U also one of his puppet and all the player present on that day were all actors . Nice movie director .

BUYING TRADING SELLING THREAD CLICK HEREEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Quote :
Everyone has a mask. And we have more than a mask. It's nothing to do with split personalities, just that we play too many roles in life.

A husband / father / son cannot play his 3 roles with the same mask. It'll be so weird!

But my question is, what is me behind my labels and my masks?
What is the real me?
Back to top Go down
jadow
Senior Duelist
Senior Duelist


Number of posts : 675
Age : 26
Location : timah
Registration date : 2008-08-16

PostSubject: Re: Royal Oppression Rulings   Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:45 pm

HUGE WALL OF TEXT. whats it for?
Back to top Go down
Axehead
Judai Yuki
Judai Yuki


Number of posts : 2490
Age : 21
Location : Singapore
Registration date : 2008-07-18

PostSubject: Re: Royal Oppression Rulings   Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:03 pm

He being helpful mah. Though it would be easier if you just posted the link so everyone doesn't need to scroll down wall of text.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Royal Oppression Rulings   Today at 8:26 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Royal Oppression Rulings
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Royal Oppression Rulings
» Gladiator beasts + Royal Oppression
» Oppression Gadgets
» The march banlist
» Vennominaga the Deity of Poisonous Snakes

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: YUGIOH :: YuGiOh! General :: Ruling Questions and Card Translations-
Jump to: